Read, Read, Read

I love young-adult literature.

Here is what I’ve been reading:

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent hc c(2)

This is my second “5 out of 5 stars” book I’ve read this semester (yes, Divergent was just as good as The Hunger Games!!!).

In this dystopian book (my favorite genre), a teenage girl goes against the status quo and learns to become “Dauntless.” She undergoes rigorous training in preparation to face her fears and thus encapsulate all that the Dauntless Faction represents.

This book is the first of a trilogy and there are rumors that it will become a motion picture in the next few years. I have book #2, Insurgent , sitting on my shelf and I can hardly wait to start reading it (because Divergent was so great, my expectations for the second book are high)! With action, suspense and bravery, this book is a must read!

Make Lemonade by Virginia Euwer Wolff

images44

This book is dedicated to young mothers. It was also named: Booklist Top of the List School Library Journal Best Books, ALA Best Book for Young Adults and the Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Blue Ribbon.

LaVaughn has had her mind set on college since the fifth grade.

“This word COLLEGE is in my house,
and you have to walk around it in the rooms
like furniture…
College takes 2 things,
money and hard work. And I don’t know what else.”

LaVaughn devises a plan to get to college: work hard to get good grades and get a job to buy her ticket out. She is persistent with her schoolwork and she just landed a babysitting job after school for Jolly, who has two very young kids at the age of seventeen. Fourteen-year old LaVaughn now works for the young and destitute Jolly.

This free verse novel is the first book of a trilogy and depicts the troubles and trials of young mothers.

L.A. Candy by reality star Lauren Conrad

200px-Lauren-Conrad_L_A__Candy_Cover

Lauren Conrad was the star of reality shows Laguna Beach and The Hills. This book is the equivalent of her fictional autobiography.

Nineteen-year old Jane just moved to L.A. with her bestie Scarlett and also landed an awesome internship with Hollywood’s top party planner. On top of all of this, Pop TV wants Jane and Scarlett to star in a new reality show.

This book unveils the lesser known struggles of reality TV stars and is written with YA Lit lingo. Score! It is the first book of yet another trilogy and I am currently reading #2. If you loved Laguna Beach or The Hills, you would definitely enjoy this novel.

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

tumblr_mjlytflrOa1rmbbh9o1_400

Meet Ed Kennedy:

“(My full name’s Ed Kennedy. I’m nineteen. I’m an underage cabdriver. I’m typical of many of the young men you see in this suburban outpost of the city–not a whole lot of prospects or possibility. That aside, I read more books than I should, and I’m decidedly crap at sex and doing my taxes. Nice to meet you.)”

His siblings are successful. His friends are deadbeats. Ed is just Ed. After becoming a fifteen-minute hero due to a heroic display at a bank robbery, Ed received an interesting message:

ace_of_diamonds_by_superrainbowfrosting-d3018yr

the ace of diamonds with three addresses written on it.

He eventually learns that he must deliver messages to each of the addresses and, in the meantime, also figure out what message to deliver, too. Ed must: protect the diamonds, survive the clubs, dig deep through the spades, and feel the hearts.

Markus Zusak is a brilliant author and he truly crafted I Am the Messenger beautifully and thoughtfully. My favorite quote from the book is, “I didn’t know words could be so heavy.” – what a powerful sentence! Zusak challenges readers to soul-search and be selfish in order to become selfless. This book is also a Michael L. Printz Honor Book.

tumblr_m0wrskEa4I1qlccb8o1_500

Zusak also wrote the emotional book, The Book Thief, about a young German girl in the midst of WWII, which I also highly recommend reading.

To get more book recommendations, you can check out my Goodreads account. If you want to love YA Lit, get in the library and raid the teen section, talk to teenagers, or search the internet. There are resources everywhere! Happy reading 🙂

