My Broken Promise to STD

Ugggghhhhh.

Last week I broke a promise.

I’m ashamed and it’s totally embarrassing…so I figured it would make an excellent blog post.

Rewind to the back-story:

I’m a member of Sigma Tau Delta on campus
which is English Honor’s Society.

We call it STD for short.

(And yes, we’ve heard all the jokes.
Actually we make all the jokes.)

Anyway, STD hosted an open mic night on campus
and as an STD-er I went to the event.

As I casually strolled in, Hannah, who is the president of STD,
and Reba, who is a fellow blogger and STD-er,
stopped me at the table
and nearly forced me to sign-up and read something.

In front of everyone.

My face flushed red.

Uh…Uh…Uh….

(Think quick, Kelsey)

I uh….left…my book of poems in my other purse…

(That was really dumb)

I panicked.

Finding a reasonable and quick escape from the situation,
I promised that at the next open mic night
I would read ORIGINAL poetry by yours truly.

(You really did it this time Kelsey. Original poetry?!)

Fast-forward to last week:

I didn’t have a poem polished and ready to go for open mic night so I just didn’t go.

What a mistake that was.

The next day I was confronted by two very upset and disappointed STD-ers.

*Face palm*

Here’s my solution:

Sharing Sunday!

In order to prepare for the next open mic night (which I WILL be participating in), I’m going to share a poem I randomly wrote in my writer’s notebook.

Sharing Sunday was created by Maggie who is an excellent blogger AND sharer. Check her blog out! She’s only three people away from 50 subscribers, which in our worlds is a huge deal. Give her some blog-love, people!

This poem I’m going to share was a casual thirty-second thought that was penned between “Things that take less time than homework” and “My homework journal” which are both really funny lists.

Time

Time spends like water when

……………..Time ticks by so fast. Because the

…………………………..Time it takes to write a paper is

…………………………………………Time gone by too fast!

