The student Voice: Our Survey, part 5 – Common Practices That Don’t Work

What doesn’t work for [actual] students.

Granted, and...

One question from our student survey that generated very specific and (I think) helpful responses was: What is a very common teacher practice that occurs all the time in class but just does not work for you? Here is a representative sample of the responses:

  • Taking notes of the projector and it doesn’t work because it doesn’t help me to understand and take it in if I am just mindlessly writing down notes
  • Reading to me does not work for me.
  • just taking notes and listening to lectures. It always makes me tire and uninterested. I just can never fully focus
  • Taking notes.
  • Lecturing, it’s boring for the students and most people tend to zone out and not pay attention anyways.
  • When the teacher tells us something and then expects us to know how to do it without example problems and such and it doesn’t work because we haven’t learned…

View original post 2,271 more words

