I Think We All Need a Pep Talk

If you’re reading this, you’ve survived most of 2013.

Congratulations

(If you’re not reading this…you should)

But now the leaves have faded brown and fallen off the trees. The sharp wind snaps all day long. And baseball season is officially over.

It’s November.

I’m personally keyed up for the last two weeks of November for three reasons:

  1. The NCTE conference in Boston
  2. My 21st birthday
  3. Thanksgiving

(In that order)

But for now, we’re past the outlandishly entertaining Halloween festivities but it’s not quite Thanksgiving time. We’re in the part of the year that is like that awkward portion of a wedding where everyone is at the reception but the wedding party still hasn’t arrived.

boring-party

I think we all need a pep talk to get us over this slump.

Last week I overheard a phone conversation:

Girl: “I’m so proud of you Mama!”

Mama: [insert something inspiring]

Girl: “You’re doing so great. Great job. I’m so proud of you.”

Obviously I have no idea what “Mama” did (it was a phone conversation, people), but it must have been something awesome.

Here’s the deal: I know you can do something awesome. And you know what? Kid President does, too.

I’m on your team. You’re on my team. This is our time.

Let’s do something awesome while we’re waiting for the wedding party. Let’s work together and bring our best to the table!

work-together-500x356

Whether it’s changing your lifestyle, finishing a book, completing an essay, or transforming the educational system, recruit some people and get it done!

recite-13492-597232287-14b27i1

