Little Suitcase, Big Plans

I don’t mean to sound like a drama queen but packing a carry-on suitcase is harder than it appears. My makeup bag takes up half the suitcase. No joke.

photo (11)

So you might be wondering why I have to squeeze five days worth of outfits into this joke of a bag. Well today is finally the day I’m leaving for the NCTE conference in Boston!

ncte boston

I’m not going to lie. Two months ago when Reba asked Dr. Ellington if our class could go to the conference I scoffed. I was skeptical and I extend my sincerest apologies to Reba.

I should have jumped on board right then and there. But I didn’t.

I didn’t think it was possible and at that point and I didn’t really care about NCTE. Now that I reflect back on that moment I realize how much has changed since then.

I’m in a completely different frame of mind now that my Methods class is almost over. In fact, I’ve truly changed a lot since the beginning of this semester.

I’m in the brunt of my English endorsement and I now know more about literature than I thought I ever would. For you non-English majors, this is a good thing. I also am fully equipped with my Personal Learning  Network and I’m not afraid of my first year as a teacher.

It may be naïve to say, but I feel like I am fully equipped and ready to take on the last few semesters of my undergrad. I’m feeling good enough to even say I’m ready to take on the rest of my life, although that’s cheesy and cliché.love  learning

I may only have a few semesters of school under my belt but I have a lifetime of learning behind me. The great part? I’m in love with learning. I know for certain that my learning will not stop after the NCTE conference, after my undergrad, or even after my first year as a teacher because I don’t want it to stop.

The world is full of literature and it would take ten lifetimes to digest it all. I’m not going to waste this life not trying to explore new places and ideas through literature. There is always something to learn.

I may have big hopes, aspirations, and visions with only a small suitcase, but I’ll work as hard as I can to squeeze everything into it.

Learn on my friend. Learn on.

