It’s Monday! Here’s Some Great YA Lit

I found the list of the New York Times Best Sellers of Young Adult Fiction hanging in the library and I’m slowly reading through the list. I’ve never read through a list before and it’s so much fun; I wonder why I’ve never done it before!

image

3/10 Complete!

Winger by Andrew Smith

13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

image

Hannah killed herself and Clay doesn’t know why. Until now.

Clay finds cassette tapes with Hannah’s voice, alive and vibrant, on them. It is her eulogy and her explanation.

Hannah gives 13 reasons why she killed herself but Clay can’t fathom how he ended up on her list.

Jay Asher pursues a unique perspective while addressing a sensitive adolescent topic. I would recommend this book to any teenager, boys or girls, of any age. It is poignant, distinct, and saddening. It’s a must-read.

Guyaholic by Carolyn Mackler

Cinder by Marissa Meyerimage

 

This book was HIGHLY recommended to me. As a futuristic, fantasy book, I was skeptical because the genre is so not what I normally would read.

Cinder is a half-robot, half-human who gets the Prince to fall in love with her. Sound familiar? Yeah, she has two step-sisters and a step-mother who makes her life really sucky.

Here’s the twist: the queen of the moon is about to take over the world and Cinder is the one to prevent it. Oh, and did I mention there’s a deadly disease taking over the world and killing everyone? Yep. That’s Cinder.

Even though I wasn’t as impressed with Cinder as I hoped I would be, I’m giving it a second chance and I’m currently reading the sequel, Scarlet, about Little Red Riding Hood and the Big Bad Wolf.

Who’s afraid of the big bad futuristic genre? Not me.

monday

