It’s Monday! What are You Reading? 8/11/14

It’s Monday! What are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme hosted at Teach Mentor Texts. Check it out to join the conversation!

it'smonday

I know it may sound crazy, but I’ve been craving picture books. When I returned a few books to the library a couple of days ago, I got a wild hair to check out the children’s section. I usually stick to young-adult literature and sometimes middle grade literature, but I wanted to see what audiobooks were hiding in the children’s section. I began perusing the isles with my teenage brother who was mortified to be roaming children’s lit with a “grown woman” as he so delicately told me. This morning I made a solo visit to the library before work to digest some picture books. Thankfully, my trip did not disappoint.

IMG_1897-0

Picture Books

Exclamation Mark by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

exclamation mark

This was the first picture book I opened today and it was, by far, the best of the four. An exclamation mark feels out of place among periods because he looks and feels different. Only when he meets Question Mark, does he begin to embrace who he is. This book is so clever and a great way to teach kiddos the different punctuation marks.

IMG_1898-0

Splat the Cat Dreams Big by Rob Scotton

splat the cat

I love cats so picking out this book was a no-brainer. Splat the cat dreams of saving princess Kitty to conquer his bedtime fright. This is a great book and I want to read more about Splat the Cat now.

Otis and the Tornado by Loren Long

otisandthetornado

Otis is a tractor on the farm and enjoys playing with his friends…except for the bull who bullies him. When a tornado heads toward the farm, Otis can either save himself or save the bull. Perhaps I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I could have because there wasn’t a cat in it…

Bits & Pieces by Judy Schachner

bits and pieces

Yes, again a cat book. Tink has a brain the size of a frozen pea (I’m not making this up) but his family adores him and he absolutely loves his family. When an indoor cat has an outdoors adventure, anything can happen.

I think I’ll start reading more picture books because I like them and they make great mini-lessons, even in secondary classrooms.

Graphic Novels

Bad Island by Doug TenNapel

badisland

The family packs up for a summer vacation and Reese, the teenage son, isn’t too thrilled with the idea. A shipwreck washes the family up on a strange island with weird rocks and animals. Little do they know, a whole different species inhabits the island. This graphic novel interweaves two storylines and is a bit strange (typical sci-fi) but, nonetheless, it was a light, good read.

Moby Dick by Lance Stahlberg

moby dick

I picked this classic graphic novel up at a Scholastic book fair for a few bucks. Score! I loved looking at the scenes come to life in graphic form! I would recommend it for both the classic novel junkie and people weary of reading graphic novels.

Radioactive: Marie and Pierre Curie, A Tale of Love and Fallout by Lauren Redniss

radioactive

Although I have this sectioned under graphic novels, it’s really more of an illustrated novel, all about Marie Curie’s life and accomplishments. The illustrations are impeccably done and it made reading a biography exciting and relative, going between current experiments and how Marie Curie laid the foundation for them.

Young-Adult Literature

Brutal by Michael Harmon

brutal

Poe is an outsider, an unconventional teenager who moves in with her dad, whom she has never met before. Poe starts a new high school and questions the status-quo of the entire town. I found myself raising my hands and saying, “Amen” to many of the issues Poe raises, particularly about high school teachers initiating cliques and exclusion.

 

 

