Learning, Researching, Creating, Connecting

I absolutely love technology. I love tweeting, pinning, posting, reblogging…you get the picture. I create accounts at new social networking sites regularly because I love the challenge of trying to navigate new online spaces.

techI spend quite a bit of time learning about technology. At conferences, I jump at the chance to attend technology sessions. My favorite hashtag on Twitter to follow is #edtech, wholly dedicated to technology in the classroom.

When I think about technology in the classroom, I want to have students blogging, tweeting, posting, etc. I love technology so my students should love technology, right?

Wrong.

Just because I love technology does NOT mean that I should push technology onto my students.

But when I think about why I love technology it’s not because I look super awesome handling a plethora of social networking accounts. It’s not because I enjoy the complexity of multi-tasking on my computer, phone, and ipad.

In fact, I’m really not even passionate about technology. I’m passionate about:

Learning

Researching

Creating

Connecting

Through technology, I can pursue all four of these passions.

LEARING & RESEARCHING

Through technology there is an endless amount of data, information, and tools we have access to. When I am assigned a paper, the first thing I do is research the topic and learn more about what it is I am going to write about.

google

I want my students to develop skills that help them become lifelong learners and researchers. Technology is the perfect outlet for both learning and researching anything.

CREATING

Technology has moved poster board presentations and traditional paper Mache volcanos to the wayside.

volcano

Now if people want to create a presentation, product, or anything else, they can find an app or a website that works for their task.

I love creating blog posts because it’s immensely rewarding to see a blank blog post turn into an interactive and engaging piece of writing. I want my students to be innovative and imaginative to create something by exploring the opportunities that technology provides.

CONNECTING

Connecting may be the most important pillar. As humans, we crave positive acknowledgement, but how often do we tell people that they matter?

Angela Maiers presents a TEDx Talk called “You Matter” where she details the importance of noticing the small, remarkable moments of others. I absolutely love that she wrote down these small moments while visiting a school. She would share these indispensible moments with students and soon she realized many students were carrying around writer’s notebooks and writing down similar moments.

All of the student objectives, state standards, preassessments, and classroom activities will be centered on connecting. Whether it’s connecting with students across the state, country, or nation, my students will have the opportunity to build relationships with people who are both similar to them and different than they are.

The four pillars don’t stand alone. They all intertwine to create a different type of learning experience. Together, creating, learning, connecting, and researching will be the foundations of my classroom. I am beyond excited to work with students and technology

To create

To learn

To connect

To research

