Attention Log

I spend so much time on the computer: browsing social networking sites, completing homework, checking email, and on and on. With so much time spent on the computer, I began to wonder if it was healthy to spend so much time intimately connected with technology.

I was compelled to keep an attention log that tracked what my body was doing as I connected with technology. I logged five extended technology sessions and recorded what I noticed:

SESSION 1:

Date  

10/9/14

 

Location Comfy bed, lounging, laptop

 

Time 20 min

 

Task I sparknoted The Portrait of a Lady (just to refresh my memory! I promise I read the book…twice) and then made changes to my essay over the novel.

 

Body Language I feel slumpy because I have been slumping. I am tired and my eyes are dreary.

My eyes looked like this...only more human. And redder.

My eyes looked like this…only more human. And redder.

 

Comments I accomplished the task and edited my essay.

Was the lounging position the best for editing an essay?

Would my work have been better if I would have assumed a different position?

SESSION 2:

Date 10/10/14

 

Location Desk, chair, laptop

 

Time 30 min

 

Task I got sucked into Feedly and read about ten articles, pinning and tweeting the good ones. I jumped onto twitter because there was an article Elisabeth sent to me about my favorite author. I’m glad I read it and didn’t just stick with my initial goal for the session (reading articles on Feedly).
Body Language I was eating my veggie wrap and peaches while scrolling through the articles…it was sometimes hard to both scroll and eat.

It was either this

computer

or this

veggie wrap

I tried typing with one hand but that didn’t work so I had to put the food down and use two hands. That made my mind happy but my stomach became grumpy.

Oh, the struggle.

Comments I really learned a lot during this session. My Feedly provides me with a variety of articles and learned about digital learning, reading workshop, and grading, among other topics in education.

I wanted to write a blog post but that was too hard to do while eating which is why I decided to read blogs instead of write one. I still need to write that post.

SESSION 3:

Date 10/14/14

 

Location Desk, chair, laptop

 

Time 2 hours

 

Task Writing lesson plans

 

Body Language Scrolling up and down from 1st lesson to 2nd made my eyes hurt and made me frustrated.

I took plenty of breaks: bathroom breaks, cupcake breaks, Oh-I-think-I-heard-something-outside breaks, procrastination breaks, anything-but-lesson-planning breaks.

Comments I hate writing lesson plans.

How can I make lesson planning less tedious?

Am I overthinking lesson planning? Probably.

SESSION 4:

Date 10/14/14

 

Location Desk, chair, laptop

 

Time Nearly 2 hours

 

Task Writing a blog post

 

Body Language I pulled up WordPress and saw a blog I wanted to read on my feeder. I clicked on a link inside that blog post and avoided the temptation to click within the second blog post.

I also stalked my blog for site stats. Hm. 38 hits two days in a row. This is me avoiding work.

Back to blogging. Drafting sucks. Ugh.

My hands go to my face when I don’t know what to write next.

I begin to slump and wrap my feet in blanket. When did it get so cold in here?

Hand to face, big sigh

Almost done! I sit up straighter, enough with the slumping! I am a blogger!

Strangely, I wipe my face after I hit “publish.”

Where’s the Spaghettios?

Photo_00040

Found ’em!

My eyes hurt…can I please be done with blogging for the day?

Comments I didn’t realize my strange bodily blogging habits. Although this post was a lot longer than my usual post, I probably still go through the same motions when writing a post.

Is it healthy to spend nearly two hours straight writing a blog?

Is it normal for my eyes to burn?

Am I going to need glasses due to my blogging habits?

 

SESSION 5:

Date 10/14/14

 

Location Laptop, chair, desk, then bed

 

Time Nearly 3.5 hours

 

Task Weebly, creating a professional site

 

Body Language My eyes already hurt.

I need a break.

I cook some peas and move to bed and eat and type and stuff. Yay for multitasking!

Computer battery is dying. And beeping at me. I move back to the desk and charge the computer.

So much messing around with this site. This is ridiculous.

FINALLY done: http://kelseyempfield.weebly.com/

That took WAY too long, but dang does my site look professional!

EmpfieldKelsey

 

Comments Should I incorporate more breaks into my technology sessions?

I try to give myself eye breaks and let them relax for a few moments. I need to do these more often.

 

 

After reviewing my attention log, I realize that I am not generous enough to myself. I need to be giving myself more scheduled breaks. Perhaps more scheduled breaks will make my technology sessions more productive, less time consuming, and more enjoyable.

