I Make a Big Production Out of Everything

One of my professors has an incredible sixth sense. No, I don’t think he can see dead people.

He has an amazing talent to pinpoint students and their issues.

When I first had him as a professor, I had a writing conference with him during the second week of class. He said to me, “Kelsey, you are a person that worries. You worry about everything and that’s unhealthy. You have to turn your worry into concern.”

Tears welled in my eyes as I nodded my head. I thought,

Dang. How on earth does he know that? I just met him last week.

I’m telling you, it’s a sixth sense.

That was a year ago. I’ve grown to enjoy his puns and odd humor. I’ve grown as both a writer and a learner by taking his courses.

Last week during our writing conference, I brought him an essay that was all over the place. No direction, no organization, no thesis.

Not my proudest moment.

He encouraged me to make revisions and guided me in the right direction. Thinking I would walk out of the conference without reaching for a tissue, he stopped and said,

“Kelsey, you make a big production out of everything. Is that correct?”

I vigorously shook my head. “Uhm. No. I don’t.”

“Well, you do.”

A tear started to form in the corner of my hazel eye.

“It’s not always a bad thing but sometimes you don’t need to make a big production out of everything. With this essay, get in, get out, state your point, and you’re done.”

I sheepishly nodded and made a fast exit before I became I blubbering mess in his office.

As much as I hate to admit it, he was spot on. I do, in fact, make a big production out of everything I do. Why have a small birthday party balloonswhen balloons and confetti are so much fun?

When I write lesson plans, it takes me forever because I stretch myself and try to be as innovative as possible. There are a million blog posts I want to write but each post is so time consuming that I often don’t have the energy to write it. I know I would want to make it better than average.

As a member in a club, I strive to be the leader because, well, why not? When I give presentations, I put so much thought into the whole production that I am sick of the topic by the end.

I am never satisfied with something that is okay, all right, or satisfactory.

I want something bigger, better, faster, stronger.

I love that I strive to be better in everything I do, but my professor is right. Sometimes tasks don’t call for a big production. It’s okay for some things to be big and extravagant; but it’s okay for some things to be okay or satisfactory, too.

I don’t have the energy to make everything a big production. I am often a big ball of stress because I stew over making little things into something bigger.

By simply stating what my professor saw in me, I became so introspective it hurt. I realized that I need to start categorizing tasks by big production or little production. Before he said anything to me, I didn’t even realize what I had been doing. And now that I realize it, I have been making everything a big production for years. And that hurts to admit. It’ll be a slow change but it’s one I’m willing to make.

My professor has an amazing sixth sense that I aspire to develop over time in the classroom. By pinpointing students within the first week of class, he helps students become better people and to think introspectively.

I am fortunate to have this professor teaching me and I will never forget how much he has helped me. I can only hope that I do the same.

