Day 1: Donut Duty

Today the pedal hit the metal. After years of anticipation, I finally had the opportunity to switch from behind the desk to in front of the desk.

desk

Today I started my student teaching experience

Oddly enough, I wasn’t nervous or anxious or concerned. I slept like a baby last night. I suppose it helped that today was a kid-less day, a teacher in-service. This alleviated the pressure of making a fool out of myself in front of teenagers. I’ll save that for tomorrow.

I can already tell that the downside of my experience will also be the upside.

Downside: The commute.

I live 30 minutes away from the school which means early mornings and late afternoons. And coffee. Lots and lots of coffee.

Upside: Carpooling.

My carpool partner is a fellow teacher at the school, and she took me under her wing and has made me feel more than welcome into the workplace community. I enjoy her insight (she’s taught there for about ten years and I think she’s the reason why I haven’t been nervous).

Because she lives in the town that has commodities (I’m teaching in a REALLY small town), she told me she usually has donut duty when the staff has meetings. Consequentially, it turned into a duo donut duty today. donut

We went to the donut shop and discovered there was a miscommunication somewhere between the school and the bakery. After waiting for a few minutes while the bakery gathered a few dozen calorie bombs, we soon left with boxes of glazed perfection.

After making another quick stop for milk and juice, we trekked the 20 minutes south and were dubbed The Donut Heroes by very hungry teachers.

(Okay, that didn’t really happen, but in my mind I wore a cape and had my own theme music).

donut2I munched on a donut (which, much to my dismay, leaked purple filling when I bit into it) while my very first in-service commenced. The principal formally introduced me to the staff (yay!), and after a few brief announcements the in-service focused on school improvement.

It turns out that school improvement is really boring. We had to look over surveys given to staff, students, and parents, interpret the data, and then draw conclusions.

Not my forte.

But it was fun to work with other teachers and see the comments from parents and students. I learned a lot about the school’s culture from the few hours I spent with the teachers. We even got a few hours to work in our classrooms.

Overall, my first day was a success. I mean, how could you be unsuccessful when you’re unofficially dubbed The Donut Hero?

 

