This Week’s Celebration: Student Teaching

 

This week has been a big one for me. As the second half of my professional year, I started student teaching this week. I started my student teaching off right…with a selfie!

selfie

I’ll take an early morning commute with a first day student teaching selfie & a side of coffee. And throw in sub-zero temps. Please and thank you.

Surprisingly enough, I wasn’t nervous or anxious Sunday night. I knew that Monday would be an in-service so that alleviated a lot of pressure.

Monday was a lot of fun because I got to be a Donut Hero. The rest of the week was an interesting mesh of adolescence, paperwork, and teaching.

Tuesday I claimed a corner of the classroom for my workspace.

Tuesday night I realized that I actually like being a teacher.

After observing Tuesday and Wednesday I was more than ready to start teaching lessons.

By Thursday at 2 pm I was exhausted. I had to veg out that night in order to finish the week with my eyes open.

Teaching was great. I did an intro to Shakespeare with the sophomores and we learned a lot of interesting things about him.

Friday night I attended my first school event as a teacher. Sounds silly but it was a monumental moment. I also found out that it’s a blast watching your students play!

This week I’m celebrating new adventures and beginnings. Cheers to all teachers! I’m finally one of you now.

(Join the celebration at Ruth Ayres Writes and link your own celebrations).

 

 

