It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 1/19/15

 

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly blog meme. Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers hosts the kidlit version.

monday

This week has been a great week of reading. I typically read at least three books at a time and this week I finally finished a few.

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

beauty queens

After reading Elisabeth’s review of this book, I knew I had to read it. Beauty Queens trying to survive after a crash landing on a deserted island? Count me in! I used to participate in pageants and I find the satire in this book hilarious and completely accurate. Although Libba Bray pokes fun at modern beauty conventions and reality TV, she hits the nail on the head. In the beginning I laughed out loud and by the end I was shaking my head.

A Really Awesome Mess by Trish Cook and Brendan Halpin

a really awesome mess

Emmy is adopted. And has an eating disorder. And has anger issues.

Justin has anger issues. And family issues. And depression.

Emmy and Justin meet at Heartland Academy, a place that promises to cure them of their ails. From both the perspective of Emmy and Justin, readers get a glimpse into Anger Management Class and Sexual Reactivity Class from the two people who don’t think they belong in a reform school.

Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

silver linings

Pat loves being physically fit for his wife Nikki. The problem is that Nikki and Pat are taking a break from marriage until Pat can get his problems figured out. After four years at “The Bad Place” Pat moves in with his mom and dad to find his whole world changed. Listen to the voice inside Pat’s mind as he tries to find a life for himself again.

With Rigor For All by Carol Jago

rigor

Although a dated professional development book, I picked it up because I’m teaching a lot of the classics this semester student teaching. Although I prescribe to the reading workshop, this book has been good for me to get inside the minds of more traditional teachers. After finishing the book, I am absolutely not convinced that the classics are what’s best for our adolescents, it helped me understand why some people may still teach whole class novels and the classics.

 

