It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1/26/15

 

 

During Christmas break, we traveled to my grandparents’ house. As usual, my brother and I both had at least one book at hand the whole trip. Recently, he’s been obsessed with the Beautiful Creatures series.

I didn’t really know much about it so he read me the first few chapters of the first book aloud:

There was a curse.

There was a girl.

And in the end, there was a grave.

I never even saw it coming.

I was hooked. Sadly, I was in the middle of about ten books during Christmas as I tried to finish my year in books with a bang. Now that it’s January, I finally had the chance to start the series.

Beautiful Creatures

Ethan lives in a small southern town where change is not welcome and the DAR is a force that controls. But when Ethan meets Lena, he sees visions and the paranormal becomes normal.

A southern gothic mystery and two teenagers trying to navigate the world, it’s an addictive book. I find myself always thinking about when I can read it next.

Although I’m only halfway finished, I’m absolutely loving it. My brother is obsessed. A student at school, a junior boy, is also obsessed. I’ll have to finish the book before I can decide, but it seems like it’s a love story that’s even suitable for boys.

hidden-banner

This week I started a book club at the school where I’m student teaching. I made up a huge list of best books from 2014 and had students pick the first book we read.

They ended up interested in the Holocaust and chose Hidden.

Dounia is a young Jew living in France. When her parents are taken from their home by Nazi soldiers, Dounia hides in a closet and manages to escape capture. Dounia moves from place to place, hiding from the Nazis and trying to find her parents.

A brief story, this book is a strange mix of childlike innocence and dark evil. The graphics create scenes where these two factors clash. I liked the perspective and I also liked the shock factor the innocence created. However, it just didn’t have the ‘wow’ factor that books like Maus I and Maus II have. I can’t wait to see what the book club has to say about it.

71LkLmxqgjL[1]

After reading Rainbow Rowell’s awesome short story in My True Love Gave to Me, I decided I should read another one of her novels. I read Fangirl last year, although good, it didn’t quite reach awesomeness.

Eleanor and Park, a Printz winner, seemed like a good option.

Eleanor: A big-boned, redhead. Eldest of five with an abusive step-father and a submissive mother. In love with Park.

Park: An Asian who refuses to learn how to drive a stick shift who has a Leave it to Beaver family. Has always given into peer pressure to cover up who he really is. In love with Eleanor.

Eleanor and Park. Clearly a love story. Also set in the 1980’s. Although I enjoy Rainbow Rowell, I wasn’t too excited to spend 200 pages reading about how much Eleanor loves park (and vice versa) and wants to be alone with him (and vice versa). A little love goes a long way with me.

 May this week be a great week of reading for you! I’ve got to go read Beautiful Creatures.

 

 

