In-Box/Out-Box

Work, work, work

Things to do.

So much to do.

Oh, look at all the things to do!

The in-box gets fuller.

The out-box? Stagnant.

No progress but more to do.

No relief; no time.

Fuller and fuller.

It overflows

Awaiting my eyes.

This summer I read Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff and It’s all Small Stuff, and I don’t mean to be cliché, but that book changed my perspective completely. I’ve talked about the book numerous times on my blog because it’s just that good. Richard Carlson gives short, quick tips to manage this crazy thing we call life. dont sweat

But what really stuck with me was when he said that, no matter how hard you try, there will always be things in your in-box. Try as you may, you will ALWAYS have things to do: dishes piled up, bills to pay, dust to dust. You get the idea.

Even when you die, you’ll still have things in your in-box, but someone else will have to take care of that: funeral bills, insurance paperwork, bank paperwork, etc.

Knowing that I’ll never be able to move all my things from in-box to out-box every day, I now only get things done that I can. I try to find peace with that. There are only so many hours in the day and I’m only one person.

The things that need to be done will eventually get done, but I have to live with a constant (and sometimes overflowing) in-box. While I’m concerned about my in-box, I’m not worried about it. I’ll get it done, but I need to have a life, too.

 

