It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 3/2/15

 

 

Can you believe it’s already March? Although a short month, February was a good month in reading for me. I read eleven books in February! Check out my Monday posts from 2/9/15  and 2/23/15 to see what I read this month. It’s Monday! What are you Reading is a weekly blog meme. Check out Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers to link up.

monday

Here’s what I ended the month in books with:

Charlie Bumpers vs. the Squeaking Skull by Bill Harley

charlie

Usually for Halloween Charlie goes trick-or-treating with his little sister and his parents. But this Halloween Charlie gets invited to a party at Alex’s house where the plan is to watch The Shrieking Skull, the scariest movie of all-time. Unfortunately Charlie is TERRIFIED of all things scary, but he doesn’t want his friends to know! Charlie’s brother, Matt, has the perfect idea: practice scaring Charlie so when he watches The Shrieking Skull it won’t be scary. The plan is risky, but maybe it will work.

The partially illustrated book had charming characters. I felt myself liking Charlie more the more I read the book. I would recommend this middle grades book because it’s so believable. Charlie is torn between spending time with his family and his friends which is a dilemma I remember having many times throughout adolescence. Although I’m not a big fan of middle grades novels, I would consider reading the Charlie Bumper series.

Pink & Green Is the New Black by Lisa Greenwald

pink

Lucy wants eighth grade to be the perfect year to finish her middle school career. And all is going according to plan. Lucy’s plan for a greener cafeteria is being proposed to the school board. She’s dating her best friend’s brother, Yamir, who is charming and super cool to everyone because he’s already in high school. And the eighth grade masquerade will be the cherry on top of her perfect year. But when Yamir begins ignoring Lucy for no apparent reason, things take a turn for the worse. Can Lucy still have the perfect year even with some imperfections?

This book is definitely a girl book. I would have a hard time getting a male student to read the very pink book. Every chapter begins with a different tip from Lucy “for surviving the eighth grade,” but the tips didn’t seem to fit the narration style. Lucy isn’t writing a self-help book; she’s detailing her eighth grade year. I also didn’t enjoy all of the eighth grade drama, but I could see many of my junior high students liking the plotline.

The biggest aspect of the book that bothered me was that Lucy wasn’t a believable character. A character trait she has is that she always worries about adult problems, but her words seemed too adult-like for me. The lessons she learned in eighth grade were too sophisticated for an eighth grader. I felt like I was reading a young adult book written by an adult.

 

 

 

 

