Spring Break Student Teacher Style

Today begins my four day spring break. Not exactly as good as the 9 day spring break I’m used to as a college student, but hey! I’ll take it.

I’ve spend my first day of spring break sleeping; I slept until 11 am. Yes, you read that right. 11 am. I slept for 11 hours.

 263031078_11b07a6ba7_o

And it was marvelous: utterly and completely spectacular.

When I woke up, I ate lunch, painted my toenails (which were in desperate need of some TLC), and watched a movie (and laundry and vacuuming, but I’d rather not revisit those chores). I blogged, baked a cake, and went for a walk.

Essentially I took time to rejuvenate and just be me. Today I feel like a teenager – I’m not in charge of student learning or classroom management; I don’t have to do grading or wear a dress.

Life gets busy, and it’s so easy to get wrapped up in teaching. We have things to do, classes to conduct, and meetings to attend. Every school day I put on my professionalism and head to school, but it’s great to take a break, lounging in sweats and doing things I enjoy.

This long weekend I’m going to spend time with my extended family doing an adult egg hunt, eating delicious home cooked food, and playing card games.

I can hardly wait.

So no, this spring break isn’t as great as heading down to Cancun or skiing in Colorado like so many college students do. But I need a break and a chance to revive with family and friends.

And that’s perfectly great with me.

 

