Celebrating the (Past Few) Week(s)

 

It’s been a while since I posted a celebration because I’ve been so busy living life that I hardly have any time to write about my life! What a dilemma. Here’s what I’m celebrating this week:

(Check out Ruth Ayres Writes for more celebrations).

celebrate

1. Friends

Over the last two weeks I’ve spent a significant amount of time hanging out with friends my own age…not a small feat in the small rural town I live in. I had to move home this semester to student teach and I really miss being surrounded by college students, so having friend time is really important to my morale.

I’ve gone to Applebees, my friend’s house, a rodeo in a neighboring town, and Dairy Queen – so many fun outings with friends. As a part of my one little word for 2015, I am making it a priority to continue with these outings.

2. Downtime

Yesterday I slept until 11 am to celebrate my spring break. I may or may not have done the same today…

3. Baking

I absolutely love baking and because I have downtime I baked a spring fling cake yesterday. I’ve never made one and, after baking this one, I don’t know why I haven’t done it before. It’s so easy!

This is a dump and mix kind of recipe that makes a deliciously light and refreshing cake (with pineapple and oranges…yummy!).

Photo Apr 03, 12 09 44 PM

 The cake consists of 4 ingredients (only one that you have to actually measure) and the frosting has 3 simple ingredients (none of which you need to measure).

I guess I left my close reading skills at school because, when I mixed the cake mix, I overlooked adding oil. I’ve tried the cake (even though we’re taking it to a family gathering later today) and it’s still delicious, so if you want less calories, I guess just skip the oil!

Photo Apr 03, 12 17 58 PM

4. Family

I love Easter not only because of what it represents, but also because of the time I have to catch up with family.

Have a great week and happy Easter!

 

