It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 4/6/15

Although my lack of IMWAYR posts indicate that I have shut all my books and burned them, I promise I actually have been reading! Check out Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers to join the conversation.

 monday

Here’s what I’ve recently finished:

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I'll give you sun

I picked up this book because it won the 2014 Printz, and I’ve been eyeing it at my public library for months now. The book centers on twins, Noah and Jude. Each twin tells their perspective, alternating every other chapter. But here’s where Nelson throws in a twist (one of many, actually): Jude only tells their story as 16-year-olds, and Noah only tells their 14-year-old story. Because of this, there are so many gaps in the story and I wanted to ingest the book whole to figure out what the heck happened between the conniving and jealous twins.

Unfortunately, the beginning of the book does not do the rest of the book justice. I nearly abandoned the book because of the extensive metaphors in the first hundred pages. Literally, I could not keep up; every sentence had an out-there metaphor – metaphor after metaphor. The only reason I kept reading was because it won the Printz, but I am glad I did.

This was one of those books that I lamented once I finished it. I found myself obsessively thinking about the twins’ impactful story and pondering the purpose of the book:

Was there a moral to the story?

Can I take away anything from this book?

Why did I end up loving this book?

Would I recommend this book?

I still have no answers to any of these questions.

 

 Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

harry

I missed the Harry Potter bandwagon as a kid. I wasn’t (and still am not) interested in fantasy and my parents weren’t too thrilled about the books. With both of these aspects combined, I never read or watched Harry Potter. Because of this, I have always missed out on jokes and allusions centering on Harry Potter. This had to stop.

So I listened to it on audio.

And it was okay, but I wouldn’t want to read it again. Fantasy is a difficult genre for me anyway, and I found the plotline a snoozefest – kids running around a school and getting into trouble. I feel like I’m the only human on this planet who hasn’t caught the Potter bug. I must be missing something? I might read the second book later, but I’m really not sure.

 

Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix

horror

Attracted to the appealing cover, I snagged this book at the last NCTE conference. Thinking I would read a young adult novel about zombies, I tore into the book. My expectations were crushed when I realized it was adult fiction about furniture store workers who have an overnight stakeout in the store. Looking for the culprit who has been desecrating furniture, the workers soon realize there’s more to the store that meets the eye.

I found the premise of the book to be bizarre and the characters to be equally bizarre. And no, there were no zombies, just half-dead souls searching for people to “help.” This book was not for me, but if you love séances and Ikea, you would absolutely love Horrorstor.

 

