Top Five Characters I’d Like To Check In With

Books end, but some characters stay with us for days or even years. Sometimes we want to be a fly on the wall and keep reading about their lives. Other times we just want to ask them a question.

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

 

Here are my top five characters I’d like to check in with:

(There are spoilers in nearly each story. Proceed with caution).

5. Carter from Carter Finally Gets It

carter

Carter Finally Gets It tells the story of Carter’s freshman year. I loved the book because it put me inside the head of a 14 year old boy, which happens to be an incredibly hysterical place.

I want to check in with Carter and, because there are two more books in the series, I can easily do so.

4. Isabel Archer from The Portrait of a Lady

Portrait

When I last left Isabel Archer, she was returning to her static and miserable marriage with Gilbert Osmond. Although she had two other marriage proposals, she chose Osmond. I have two questions for Miss Archer, “How did your marriage end up?” and “Do you regret it?”

2. & 3. Jude and Noah from I’ll Give You the Sun

I'll give you sun

Jude and Noah are twins and take turns narrating the story. Noah tells of their lives as 14 year olds and Jude tells the current story as they are 16 years old. After their mother is killed in a car accident when the twins are 15, Noah and Jude’s relationship is never the same. In fact, their competitiveness mars their relationship even as young teens.

I read this book because it won the 2014 Printz award. After finishing the book, Noah and Jude’s story lingered with me for days. Although it wasn’t one of those books that I wanted to tell everyone about, I found myself obsessively thinking about the story. I’m not sure if I would ask them anything, but, for some unknown reasons, I want to be an objective third party viewer in their lives.

1. Edna Pontellier from The Awakening

awakening

Edna is the character whom I’d most like to check in with. In the novel, Edna realizes she does not want to conform to society’s expectations for women, such as get married, have children, and be a housewife. She finally realizes that she cannot escape society’s demands and becomes extremely unhappy with her life. In the end, she chooses complete solitude and commits suicide.

This is my favorite novel to this day. Although Edna is technically dead (and fictional), I want to ask her one question: “Was it worth it?”

