The Bombing and Succeeding of Lessons

“If it’s in the lesson plan you’ll be fine.” This is what I was taught as a pre-service teacher. If you’re prepared, have objectives, and an affective lesson plan, you’ll have no classroom management problems.

But how do you fit life into a lesson plan?

4574733303_5c72eac636_o

No matter how hard you try, you cannot account for the unpredictable actions of real, live human beings on a sheet of white paper. 10567875696_2a78c3e0eb_o

When I plan lessons, there is always a chance that the lesson will bomb. I enjoy integrating new technology and activities, but in order to do so I have to take a chance. When I try something new there is always the chance that it will bomb. Though I don’t know until I try.

When I plan my lessons, I always try to mix it up. I run through the lesson in my mind. But what I anticipate will happen in the lessons NEVER actually happens.

In fact, the genius lesson plans I create are usually the ones that bomb. However, the lessons that I’m uncertain of usually go flawlessly. Students are engaged and interested. I don’t know why that happens, but I do know that if I try to obsessively plan activities, I could waste a lot of time.

So I don’t.

I try new things and see how they go regardless of how I think they’ll go. Besides, I’ve never been good at predicting anyway.

