I Love Lunch

At my school, lunch duty is always an area in need of teacher volunteers. So I volunteered. Then I found out that teachers get a free lunch from the cafeteria on days when they do lunch duty. So I volunteered for an additional day. (The cafeteria makes delicious homemade bread to die for!). It was a sweet setup: get a yummy lunch and then stand in the hall for ten minutes.

I can do that.5665752854_3fafcc74f3_o

Then I started my first lunch duty. While the lunch was good, the kids were crazy! I went to the hall to stand for ten minutes and saw kids climbing on walls, bumping each other, and running around like madmen (and madwomen).

Oye.

I didn’t know what to do with the hooligans. It was sheer madness. The good news is that they finally settled down when another teacher came into the hall and straightened them out.

To say I was a tad clueless would be an understatement. But then I talked to that teacher who commanded saneness in the hallway. She told me to basically put them in their place. My job is to supervise and ensure no students are hurt.

Now that I’ve been doing lunch duty for a few months, I can honestly say that I’m so much better at managing students. My management skills in the hall have also transferred to my management skills in the classroom. I no longer just giggle when students do something they’re not supposed to be doing. Now I approach them and handle the situation. It wasn’t easy at first, but it’s gotten better in the hallway and in the classroom.

Now I enjoy my lunch AND my duty.

 

