Quiz Bowl Confusion

I was asked a simple question by another teacher: “Would you be willing to be a reader for the quiz bowl?” Of course I accepted. I can read questions.

Easy-peasy.

SONY DSC

Then I went to the quiz bowl meeting with the other teachers. I was handed a HUGE packet and informed of my duties as “reader.” Oh boy, I was in over my head. Turns out this quiz bowl thing is legit. There are complicated rules for each round and games, and hand signals, and a coin toss, and even/odd turns.

After I sifted through and digested the packet (which included quiz bowl guidelines, reader and helper roles, game 1, 2, 3 questions, and the tournament agenda) I was still overwhelmed. Fortunately, I found the right people to answer my questions and I felt a little better.

Although a tad nervous, I was more than excited for the competition. Our small, rural school hosted 12 schools with 7th and 8th grade quiz bowl teams.

Game on.

Surprisingly, all went perfectly. I quickly learned the quiz bowl process. Plus, I pronounced all the words correctly. Well, at least I think I did. Nobody said anything so I’ll take that as a win!

The best part of the day was seeing my students’ faces when it was announced that our 7th grade quiz bowl placed 2nd and our 8th grade placed 3rd. How awesome! I enjoyed quiz bowl so much that I’m considering switching careers.

I’ve always wanted to be a game show host 😉

