It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 5/4/15

 

This is the first Monday in May which means a brand new start to a new month of reading! April was a good month of reading for me, and I’m still trying to write reviews of books I read last month. Check out my IMWAYR posts from April:

4/6/15 – I’ll Give You the Sun, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Horrorstor

4/13/15 – The Old Man and the Sea, The Walking Dead, The Adventures of Beekle

4/20/15 – Sing Down the Moon, A Few Seconds of Radiant Filmstrip, Fifty Shades Darker

(It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Is a weekly blog meme hosted by Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers).

monday

Although I enjoy living in my hometown, I am constantly disappointed with the public library’s teen section. It consists of very few new young adult books, and old comic book series in the “Graphic Novels” section. Ever since leaving my college town for student teaching, I have felt a huge void because of this, especially with the graphic novels.

Much to my pleasure, I was more than excited to return to my college town last weekend. Returning to college meant two awesome things happened:

  1. I got to see most of my friends.
  2. I got to go to the public library!

Knowing that I’ll be returning to the college at the end of this week for graduation, I decided to visit the library and check out as many graphic novels as I thought I could handle (and keep track of).

Now, without further adieu, here are some of the graphic novels I have been bingeing on:

Eighth Grade is Making Me Sick by Jennifer L. Holm

eighth grade...

Ginny is just trying to survive eighth grade while ignoring horoscopes, teaching her grandpa how to live in the digital age, and fangirling over Vampire Vixens. But a series of extremely unfortunate events ruin most of Ginny’s plans.

Follow Ginny’s year “in stuff.” Although I have read a significant amount of graphic novels, I have never read one like this. The dialogue is done through bits and pieces of notes: school announcements, grocery lists, permission slips, poetry assignments, and hand drawn comics. Each page is a different picture of stuff, notebooks, computer screens, tabletops, kitchen counters, etc. The characters in the book are not ever shown aside from in the hand drawn comics. Even when Ginny’s family take a family picture, the faces are covered up with other notes and papers.

I enjoyed this book because it was presented in a unique way. Only watching the characters interact with notes, instant messages, and emails presented a different perspective to read the story. With that being said, I would not want to read too many books like this because it was somewhat frustrating only getting small glimpses of the characters and their lives. However, this is a perfect middle grades book, and I think many students could relate to the characters and enjoy the book. 

Brain Camp by Susan Kim, Laurence Klavan, Faith Erin Hicks

brain camp

Jenna and Lucas are bad teens. So bad that their parents decide to send them to camp but not just any camp. This camp is an invitation-only corrective camp. Campers who have attended have grown immensely, getting into Yale and solving complicated arithmetic problems. But Jenna and Lucas soon realize that all is not right at camp…

I loved this graphic novel for two reasons. First, I really enjoy this type of graphics, colorful and realistic cartoon. Although it’s more expensive to publish graphic novels in color, it’s the type I prefer to read. I also enjoyed the fast paced plotline and the element of mystery. This is a great book for all ages 7-12 grade.

March Book One by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell

march

John Lewis, a powerful force in the 1960’s desegregation movement, tells his story of how and why he got involved as a civil rights activist. This nonfiction graphic novel is absolutely beautiful. With black and white spreads, the pictures are clear unlike some black and white graphic novels I’ve read. The realistic depictions also add an element of nonfiction to the book. Because the book is approachable and engaging, it is a nonfiction book I would recommend to many students.

Next week be prepared for another round of graphic novel reviews!

 

