Kids Outside the Classroom

When I was in school, it was always an awkward moment when I saw teachers outside of school. Sure I expected them to be at school events like football games and band concerts, but not Wal-Mart!

14846776262_929d1cabbe_o

Teachers aren’t supposed to leave the school and grocery shop, right?

But now that I’m a teacher the tables have turned. Students are the ones who are supposed to be in school, and I’m supposed to be the one who has a life outside of school. Students aren’t supposed to be in stores shopping alongside me. That’s just plain weird.

Within the first weeks of student teaching, I filled up with gas before making the 30 mile trek south to school. Low and behold, at the pump next to me was a student out of his natural habitat. I was surprised because I teach in a very small school 30 minutes away from where I live so the chance that I see a student in town is highly unlikely. In that moment when I saw that student, my two worlds collided, my work world and my personal life. I was puzzled at this odd combination.

All I could think was ‘What in the world?’

So what do you do when you see students outside of the classroom? I guess you smile, wave, and finish at the gas pump. After all, students need gas, too.

 

