Books I Bought In May

 

I don’t always buy books, but when I do I buy in bulk (well, “bulk” as in terms of a newly graduated college student who hasn’t started earning her teacher income yet). So for me bulk means more than two!

Somehow it’s also a lot easier to buy books for other people instead of for myself. I figure I can check them out from the library, but not everyone goes to the library so I need to books in front of others. Plus, books make great gifts if you’re good at book match-making.

This month I bought books for three people:

1. My brother

Dakota just finished his freshman year of high school and has a birthday coming up, so I figured I would get him Freshman: Tales of 9th Grade Obsessions, Revelations, and Other Nonsense by Corinne Mucha.

 freshman

I loved this graphic novel, but I didn’t want to freak my brother out so I waited until he was done with his freshman year before I gave it to him.

Dakota is a very sophisticated reader; he ingests books. If You Were Me by Sam Hepburn looked like a book that would stretch his perspective and get him out of American books.

 if you were me

The Accidental Highwayman: Being the Tale of Kit Bristol, His Horse Midnight, a Mysterious Princess, and Sundry Magical Persons Besides by Ben Tripp. I feel like the title of this book should be a sentence itself. Dakota likes modern fairytales, so we’ll see what he thinks of this one! I like that the book cover doesn’t scream girly princess overdone fairytale book.

 accidental highwayman

I found Fat Boy vs. the Cheerleaders by Geoff Herbach on some top books of 2015 list. Honestly, I don’t know if this book was for Dakota or for me. He’ll probably like it, but I think I’ll like it more.

fat boy

2. My boyfriend

Ethan has been the hardest person I know to match a book with because he seems to only enjoy nonfiction, mostly centering on guns or war – a book genre I really have to educate myself on. He devoured Chris Kyle’s books, but shied away from Lone Survivor and Ted, White, and Blue, two books I thought he would really like.

Because I just finished reading Dave Ramsey’s Complete Guide to Money and became obsessed with it, I looked into Dave’s other books. Ethan wants to open up his own business soon, so I figured Dave Ramsey’s EntreLeadership would help him out.

entreleadership

3. My just-graduated friend

Maggie and I have completely opposite tastes in books; if I love it, she hates it and vice versa. I was conflicted about Wild by Cheryl Strayed when I read it. I hated it, but couldn’t stop talking about it. I can’t decide if I still don’t like it, but I think it’s definitely a book that Maggie will enjoy.

wild

 

