June, July, and August

We’ve all heard that the best part of teaching is June, July, and August. Although this cliché is not true for most teachers, many educators look forward to rest and rejuvenation during the summer months.

Photo cred Mike Bitzenhofer CC

 

As June, July, and August quickly approach I’ve tried to enjoy the time I have to myself, but I just can’t do it. In fact, it seems as if the worst part of teaching for newly-graduated-almost-first-year teachers is June, July, and August. I have three months before I dive into teaching. Three months to think about what awaits me August 10th as I report to my first day of teaching.

Unfortunately, I also have three months to worry.

I’ve heard horror stories about how difficult the first year teaching can be, and I want to make my first year easier on me, which means using this summer to prepare. But how can I prepare when I have no idea what I really need to prepare for?

I’m worried that I’m not spending my time this summer doing the right thing. Should I be garage saling to find classroom supplies like lamps, couches, file folders, and various organization containers? Or should I draft a rough sketch of the curriculum I’d really like to teach?

I have no idea how my school plans curriculum, I don’t know what sort of materials will be available for me, and I haven’t even seen my classroom yet. The unknown greatly outweighs the known.

I understand that I’ll “figure it out eventually,” but I can’t help but be concerned. Whenever we start something new our fears have a habit of surfacing and occupying our thoughts.

So here I am freshly graduated and anticipating my first big kid job all while not knowing what it is I need to be doing. And I’m trying to make peace with that.

 

