It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/15/15

More reading for me! I’m on track to achieve my 2015 reading goal, to read more books than I did in 2014. Unfortunately, I’ve been procrastinating reading professional development books because there are too many young adult novels I want to read! Here’s what I’ve been reading:

Girls Like Us by Gail Giles

girls like us

Quincy and Biddy have just graduated high school. More specifically, they have just graduated from their high school’s special education program. So what now?

Much to Quincy’s displeasure, she will now be living with Biddy in an apartment. The girls take turns, every other chapter, telling their story in their own voices.

Moving on from high school is difficult, and this book made me think about things I didn’t really want to. It forced me to be uncomfortable over and over again. It scared me. It made me worry. It pulled my tears from my eyes. A wonderfully poignant young adult novel, but I would not recommend it to most of my seventh graders.

El Deafo by Cece Bell

deafo

I finally got my hands on the book I can’t stop hearing about. And rightly so. This graphic novel is in full color and I know my seventh graders will eat this one up.

I heard Cece speak at NCTE last fall and I love her advocacy and the way she presents her hearing impairment. A little humor mixed with a sad situation makes for a great book.

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

browngirl

Yet another book that I’ve heard so much about and I finally got a copy of. As a free verse novel, I love the approachability of the poetry. This book allows students to see that poetry isn’t scary. In fact, poetry is awesome!

Despite all of the hype, I liked the book but didn’t love it. Unlike The Crossover, I didn’t shed a tear or have my heartstrings pulled.

Bone, Vol. 1: Out from Boneville by Jeff Smith

bone

The kiddos I taught while student teaching were crazy over Bone. After reading the first book, I’m not exactly sure why they loved it so much – perhaps because they’ve never been exposed to any other graphic novels before. For me, an avid reader of graphic novels, Bone does not top my list.

First, the book began “en media res” and I was confused why bones were the main characters and I didn’t understand why they were being kicked out of Boneville. Besides, what is Boneville exactly anyway?

The worst part of this book was that it ended just how it began – in the middle of everything. I realize this is a marketing gimmick so that I’ll buy the next book, but it was so off-putting I don’t want to read anymore of them! In retrospect, Bone leans more toward comic than graphic novel.

monday

Visit Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers to read more kidlit reviews.

 

