It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/29/15

Summer is treating me well in the book department. Despite working full-time at the bank, I’ve managed to read quite a few books.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a weekly blog meme, and the kidlit version is hosted by Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers.

monday

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

The Imaginary by A.F. Harrold

imaginary

In the junior high book club I sponsored, the students desperately wanted to read Beekle, a picture book about an imaginary friend. However, the seventh graders were greatly disappointed with the picture book because they wanted to read MORE which is a good problem to have. I wish I would have known about The Imaginary then.

Amanda has a vivid imagination, and when she imagines Rudger life seems perfectly awesome. Until the villain, Mr. Bunting, who thrives on eating imaginary friends, makes an appearance.

I enjoyed the perspective and plotline of the book. Plus, the illustrations by Emily Gravett really added depth to the book. Beekle and The Imaginary work hand-in-hand. I can’t wait to read aloud Beekle to my seventh graders and then pitch The Imaginary.

Baby Proof by Emily Giffin

baby proof

Claudia does not want to have children, and she thinks she’ll grow old alone because it seems as if that’s a deal-breaker in the dating world. And then she meets Ben who also wants a child-less life. After several years of marriage, Ben changes his mind.

Finally! I read a book for adults. Recently, I have been ingesting middle grades and young adult literature so it felt good to read a book for grownups.

This thought-provoking book gives a glimpse of several baby/family scenarios, but I have never read a book that mentions eggs and fertility as much as this one does. Regardless, I tore through it. Maybe I should read more adult fiction…

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

mango

I’m so glad I read this book in audio format or else I would have been pronouncing “Mango” like the fruit (instead it is pronounced m-ah-ngo). I enjoyed the tween’s perspective of growing up, particularly growing up without white privilege.

I think seventh grade girls and fans of Brown Girl Dreaming will enjoy this title. Actually, I read this book while also reading Brown Girl Dreaming, and they have very similar themes and voice. In fact, I’m not sure I have each book straight in my mind.

