Collected Verse of Edgar A. Guest

I recently received a wonderful graduation gift – a book of poetry which will be perfect for my classroom and good for my soul. Collected Verse of Edgar A. Guest has hundreds of poems.

Photo Jul 05, 12 55 06 PM

Before this book, I had never heard of Guest, but now he’s a poet I won’t be forgetting anytime soon. I’m obsessed with his work. I love the honesty of his poems. They are poems about everyday life – nothing over the top or extravagant. Here are some of the titles:

The Little Clothes Line

Bread and Butter

Bedtime

Hard Knocks

Growth

And yes, he even wrote about breakfast sausage:

Sausage

You may brag about your breakfast foods you

                eat at break of day,

(Read the rest here!)

Poetry doesn’t have to be laden with hard-to-understand metaphors or prolific alliterations. Poetry is best when it’s about real life – our wishes, our dreams, our life as we know it.

As an avid fisherwoman, here is my favorite Guest poem I’ve come across so far:

Out Fishin’

A feller isn’t thinkin’ mean,

                Out fishin’;

His thoughts are mostly good an’ clean,

                Out fishin’.

He doesn’t knock his fellow men,

Or harbor any grudges then;

A feller’s at his finest when

                Out fishin’.

(Read the rest here!)

I can’t wait to dig into this book and discover more poems that I can truly relate to. I also think my seventh graders will also be able to relate to his poetry when I share it with them.

Poetry Friday is a weekly blog meme. This week’s links are hosted by iWrite in Maine.

Poetry Friday

