It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/3/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme. The kidlit version is hosted by Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers. Check the sites out to get awesome weekly book reviews and recommendations. Warning: Your To-Be-Read list might grow uncontrollably.

monday

Here’s what I’ve recently finished:

Atlantia by Ally Condie

Atlantia

2/5 Stars

At age 16 all citizens of the underwater world, Atlantia, must choose to stay below or go above. While Rio has always wanted to go above (cue The Little Mermaid), her twin sister has always wanted to stay below. With the sudden death of their mother, the twins decide to stay together below…until an unexpected change of plans.

I didn’t read the widely popular Matched series, but I heard all about how awesome it is. Since that series, Ally has risen to YA fame. Case in point: I received a copy of her new release Atlantia at NCTE last year and her line stretched across the entire convention center! Because of this, I had great expectations for the book.

A bit dystopian, a bit fantasy, this book just didn’t do it for me. For over 100 pages there was little to no action. Despite the dramatic situation, the book sauntered on. I also didn’t quite grasp the infrastructure of the underwater city. There was explanation and eventually the history, but I needed a better understanding earlier on.

Although I didn’t enjoy the book, my 16 year old brother ate it up and will probably reread it within the next year.

101 Great American Poems by The American Poetry and Literacy Project

Great Am

5/5 Stars

As I was preparing good poems for my 7th grade classroom, I found over 70 classic poems that I think my students will enjoy. I like this collection because many of the poems are fairly short which makes implementing a poem of the day every day easy. No excuses for not sharing poetry! The downside of this book is that it’s very small and skinny. Last semester it got lost several times and each time I found it in between larger books. Whoops!

Poem of the Day 101 Great Poems

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

wonder

5/5 Stars

How have I never read this book before?! I loved the premise, characters, and writing. I was surprised that Palacio switched narrators throughout the book because the first few chapters of August’s perspective was incredible. However, the variety of everyone’s point of view took the book from 4 stars to 5. Reading is about seeing situations through someone else’s eyes and this book epitomizes why I read.

Not only is the book exceedingly engaging, I love the message that shines through. The book didn’t preach the message of acceptance and kindness; it showed it. I can only hope that people who read this book will choose kind every day.

 

