It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/10/15

This week is my first official week teaching which means I’ve been busy getting the classroom ready and attending meetings (not necessarily in that order). To compensate for the loss of time in my reading life, I’ve been reading short books. Makes sense, right?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme. The kidlit version is hosted by Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers. I love the IMWAYR community because they’re as crazy for kidlit as I am! Check out their recommendations and reviews to jump on the bandwagon.

monday

Here’s what I’ve finished:

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

crayons

I don’t know about you, but my crayons were pretty trusty when I was little. Unlike these crayons! I couldn’t quit laughing when I started the book because crayons writing letters of protest is just too funny. Unfortunately, about halfway through the book it got tedious. All of the letters were essentially the same and there are so many upset colors.

I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

hat

Who said picture books can’t be witty? I love that this picture book really caters to people of all ages. Young kiddos may enjoy the book because of the simplicity at the surface. Teens will love the drama that the bear brings to the table. Adults will be scratching their heads and, if they’re like me, wondering why they didn’t see that ending coming.  

I want this PB for my classroom so badly! I could use it to teach a multitude of mini lessons: foreshadowing, creating drama, surface simplicity, writing for audiences, etc. Plus, it’s just a great book..especially to read aloud.

Half a Chance by Cynthia Lord

half a chance

I thought Cynthia’s Newbery Honor, Rules, fell flat despite a unique and interesting scenario. Because of that, I was hesitant to pick up this book. I figured it might be a middle grades novel without much depth, but I was so wrong.

Lucy just moved to a lake house and quickly meets a new friend, learns about wildlife conservation, and begins shooting photos for a contest. Although the book begins as a new kid/summer time story, it goes much deeper as Lucy realizes she’s the “third” friend and her dad leaves to take on a new job.

I was hooked as the book turns from a lighthearted story to a look at serious issues as Lucy realizes, through several instances, the next door neighbor Grandma Lilah suffers from dementia. Some days are better than others, but the disease affects the entire family, along with Lucy. While Lucy wants to help, her attempts fall short and there are very tender moments between Grandma Lilah and her family as she realizes what is happening to her.

