It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/24/15

Last week was the official start to the school year. Nearly 100 7th graders flocked into my classroom (not at the same time, thank goodness). With school commencing, yet again I had little time to read kid lit, which is why I’m thankful I’m way behind on my IMWAYR book reviews!

monday

Unfortunately, with the busyness of the week I didn’t get a chance to visit Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers to read everyone’s rockstar kid lit reviews. My goal for this week is to squeeze in the time to read the awesome link-ups. Some how, some way…it’s going to happen.

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

I Funny: A Middle School Story by James Patterson

i funny

I ordered a book of jokes from Amazon two weeks ago, but I didn’t get it.

Ha-ha!

This book overflows with jokes – one after another. Although some fell flat, they kept my attention throughout the book. After a tragedy, Jamie is forced to live with his aunt, uncle, and evil cousin (hello Harry Potter!). But Jamie tries to find a safe haven with his jokes and takes his knock-knocks to the next level.

I love that this book is written for middle schoolers, particularly boys. I think a lot of 7th graders would love this title. But wait! There’s more. Books in this series.

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

dr. jekyll

Another win for abridged classics! Although the original Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is very short anyway, I didn’t feel guilty reading an even shorter version of the book. I enjoyed the plotline, along with the twists, and the characters were interesting case studies.

The Man in the Iron Mask (Timeless) by Alexandre Dumas

man in iron

I’m not familiar with the story of the Three Musketeers which would have been handy to know before jumping into this abridged classic. This book was just not the right match for me because of the convoluted back stories and the era in which it is set.

Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle by Betty MacDonald

mrs. piggle-wiggle

Growing up, my mom would read Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle to me all of the time. I loved the kooky woman who helps cure children of the ailments. Some of my favorite ailments are: never-want-to-go-to-bedders, slow-eater-tiny-bite-takers, and the answer-backers.

However, one cure nearly pushed me over the edge. I almost couldn’t handle the cure for the girl who never takes a bath. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s cure consists of letting the girl not take a bath. Once she has a layer of dirt on her skin, she instructs the girl’s parents to press radish seeds into her dirty skin. When the girl discovers full-grown radishes on her skin, viola! She hops right into the bath.

I found an audio copy of this book at the library and jumped at the chance to revisit my childhood memory of Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle. My mom also read these when she was growing up, so this book holds a special place in both of our hearts. Which is what books should do.

 

