It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/14/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme for all book lovers! Check out Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for kidlit reviews.

monday

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

this is not my hat

I actually read I Want My Hat Back before I read the original, but read in either order they are both hits. The drama Klassen creates in both books had my seventh graders predicting, inferring, AND giggling. What a wonderful book to teach inference for any age.

The Real Simple Guide to Real Life: Adulthood made easy by Real Simple Magazine

real simple

When I go to the public library I have a very routine procedure. First I begin by returning old books in the drop box by the front desk and then meandering down to the adult section where the new books are shelved. Next I move to the kidlit portion: browse new books in the children’s section, browse new books in the teen section, and check out audio books in children’s section. I always top off my visit by visiting the audio books in the adult section.

Out of all the shelves I browse, I’m least likely to find my next read in the adult section for new books. However, I stumbled across this title in that section and read it in two days.

With promises of “adulthood made easy” I knew I needed to read this book and read it fast! It reads like a magazine because of the guest editorials and how-to articles. Although I didn’t learn anything absolutely essential and groundbreaking, I enjoyed this read. Plus, now I know how to correctly clean delicates.

Hold Tight, Don’t Let Go: A Novel of Haiti by Laura Rose Wagner

hold tight

Living in Nebraska, I have given more thought to tornados than I have to earthquakes. Until I read this book. Wagner grabbed my hand and took me into the depths and sorrow of Haiti.

Beginning with the 2010 Haitian earthquake, the book tells Magdalie’s story as she details the earthquake’s aftermath and the changes she must endure as a result. She must move to a refugee camp, lay a loved one to rest, and say goodbye to her dearest friend.

I could not believe this novel was Wagner’s first because of the beautiful writing, well-developed characters, and phenomenal descriptions. Although they are fictional characters, I felt that Magdalie and Nadine were real people telling their own story, starting with the tragic earthquake. Because of this novel, I am inspired to expand my reading life and commit to reading more diverse books. I would recommend this young adult novel to all readers.

 

