It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/5/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme hosted by Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers.

monday

Here’s what I’ve been reading recently:

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

to kill a

With all the fuss about Go Set a Watchman, I decided I better give Harper Lee’s classic another read. The last time I read her novel I was in eighth grade and loved it. This time? Not so much. I kept trying to remember why I loved it so much when I was fourteen, but never found the answer.

I thought that the beginning of the novel was completely too long. Okay, Scout and Jim run around town and raise ruckus. I get it. Move on. To me the meat of the novel is the court case which doesn’t happen for chapters upon chapters.

Who knows? Maybe in another ten years I’ll reread it and have a completely different perspective. Sometimes life does that to you.

Regardless, I’m still torn about reading Go Set a Watchman. I’ve heard from numerous people that it’s not worth my time. Maybe if I can borrow a copy I’ll read it. Maybe.

I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora

mockingbird

Three kiddos try to take down To Kill a Mockingbird by hiding all of the copies of the book they can get their hands on. Interestingly enough, the kids don’t actually want to kill the Mockingbird. They want to raise awareness of Harper Lee’s awesome novel. What better way to get people reading a book than to get rid of all the copies!

While I thought the plot was a bit far-fetched for a middle grades realistic novel, I liked it. However, I wish the book would have focused more on the relationship between the main character and her mother who is recovering from cancer. The relationship was so tender and brought many issues to the surface, but I don’t think Acampora gave that story line justice.

Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story by David Levithan

hold me closer

If I’m being completely honest, I did not like Will Grayson, Will Grayson one bit. It was too over-the-edge, too weird I guess. When I first heard that Levithan was writing a spin-off novel, I was not interested.

Then I saw the book cover.

It was so sparkly! I had to read it.

Tiny Cooper is definitely over-the-top and overly dramatic, but I didn’t hate the book. I thought his play touched on meaningful issues and emotions. We all know what teenage romance was like! Well, Tiny gives his audience a taste of what high school romance Tiny-version looks like. He puts the drama in dramatic. It was also fun to read a play instead of a novel for a change.

