It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/26/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme. The kidlit version is hosted by Unleashing Readers and Teach Mentor Texts.

monday

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

Shh! We Have A Plan by Chris Haughton

shh

4/5 Stars

A bird hunt turns into mission impossible with this picture book by Chris Haughton. I loved using it as a read-aloud for my 7th grade English class. My students especially got a kick out of me Shhh-ing them every-other page. We used this book to help hone in on the skill of inference. And for sheer enjoyment.

The Wounded Spirit by Frank Peretti

Wound

3/5 Stars

Frank Peretti wrote this book shortly after the massacre at Columbine High School. Before bullying became a global topic of awareness, Frank recognized the danger because he was a victim of bullying.

The Wounded Spirit begins with Frank’s personal experience being bullied. He then launches into his theory of bullying and what we, students, teachers, community members, can do about it. Although I didn’t agree with all of Frank’s theories, I think his overall point is valid:

No one should be bullied and we all need to work together to prevent it. We cannot afford another wounded spirit among us.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

loveletters

3/5 Stars

Recently, I have been swept into the land of middle grade novels. I’ve enjoyed reading the innocence without the mess of teenage angst. When I saw Love Letters in the library, I knew I had to temporarily halt my time in the world of middle grades.

When Laurel’s sister dies, she is left to wonder what part she played in her death. After trying to shut out the world, Laurel enrolls in a new-to-her high school to try to start over. As Laurel tries to rationalize who she thought her sister was and who her sister ACTUALLY was, she begins writing letters to dead famous people for an English assignment.

While this book did try to go for typical YA Lit shock value, I found myself coming back to it and wanting to read it every chance I had. The characters were extreme, yes, but the themes Dellaira brings to the forefront are worthy of a read.

 

