It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 12/14/15

As Christmas break quickly approaches, I can’t help but get excited about diving into my TBR list and finishing out my year in reading strong. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme. The kidlit version is hosted by Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers.

Although it’s been incredibly difficult to post new content on my blog, I finally got a post published last week besides IMWAYR. Check out my reflection and learning from this year’s NCTE convention in Minneapolis!

Here’s what I’ve recently finished:

The Accidental Highwayman: Being the Tale of Kit Bristol, His Horse Midnight, a Mysterious Princess, and Sundry Magical Persons Besides by Ben Tripp                                             ^ longest title ever!^

highwayman

A servant discovers his master is the rumored mysterious Highwayman who robs people as they travel in carriages and on horses. The Highwayman returns home in a rush, riddled with wounds and as he dies he tells his servant, Kit Bristol, about his secret identity. Suddenly, Kit finds himself trying to defend his master’s honor and becomes mixed up in the Highwayman’s many problems. Kit must flee on the horse Midnight in order to save himself. On the highway, Kit discovers a Faerie Princess who he accompanies to her destination as she flees from an unwanted union as requested by her father. And of course, the Faeries join, too.

The first 50 pages were so fast-paced and exciting that I got involved in Kit’s journey with ease. I have not found many princess/faerie books that I enjoy, but this is one worth reading. Although categorized as young adult, this book has no YA characteristics and contains elevated vocabulary, but I know many young adults and adults who I would love to recommend this book to.

Slappy’s Tales of Horror by R.L. Stine

slappy

2/5 stars

Growing up, I picked up R.L. Stine every once in a while. I liked some of the action that happened, but the plotline never really hooked me. I had a similar experience when I read Slappy’s Tales.

This full-color graphic novel contains several scary stories. They are brief and engaging but, because of this, they lack in depth and development. I was also disappointed to discover that one of the tales was in a different Goosebumps graphic novel collection that I had already read. Still, the stories get better and better and the last creepy tale was my favorite.

Little Elliot, Big City by Mike Curato

little elliot

5/5 stars

Little Elliot is so so cute! In this story, Little Elliot realizes he often goes unnoticed because he is too little, especially when he goes to buy a cupcake (aw!). When he finds a mouse that has the same problem, they work together to accomplish what they couldn’t alone (aw!).

I read this book with my grade sevens to infer theme and write a literary summary. Of course, I cued the chorus of “Awwws” as we ventured through the pages. After reading this picture book, the rest of the Little Elliot series is now on my tbr list.

 

