Cause I Ain’t Got a Pencil

This year, my first year teaching, has been a whirlwind to say the least. It has been scary-easy to get caught up in the documentation, assessments, administrative expectations, and daily preparation. When my to-do list continues to grow, I lose sight of teaching. I forget that I have daily contact with human beings, many of whom desperately need to be cared for.

When the tasks pile up, I get impatient and I lose the joy of my job. Thankfully, I’m surrounded by extraordinary professionals who care about student success just as much as they care for students. I always look forward to the inspirational messages sent by the assistant principal. One of those messages rings true day after day as I work with students:

“Cause I Ain’t Got a Pencil,” Joshua T. Dickerson

I woke myself up

Because we ain’t got an alarm clock

Dug in the dirty clothes basket,

Cause ain’t nobody washed my uniform

Brushed my hair and teeth in the dark,

Cause the lights ain’t on

Even got my baby sister ready,

Cause my mama wasn’t home.

Got us both to school on time,

To eat us a good breakfast.

Then when I got to class the teacher fussed

Cause I ain’t got no pencil

It’s easy to get frustrated with students, forgetting their pencil or forgetting a concept I’ve recently taught them. But in the midst of the whirlwind, I can’t forget my students.

Poetry Friday

Poetry Friday is a weekly roundup of blog links centered on poetry. This week’s linkup can be found at Today’s Little Ditty.

