It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/6/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme. The kidlit version is hosted by Unleashing Readers and Teach Mentor Texts.

imwayr
Here’s what I’ve recently finished:
Harry Potter and the prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

harry potter and the prisoner of azkaban

2/5 stars

I’m slowly making my way through the Harry Potter books for the first time. Unimpressed by the first book, I took a chance to read the second and loved it. In this third novel of the series, I found the breakdown of the friendship between Harry, Hermione, and Ron a realistic portrayal of young teen friendship; it needed to happen.

Compared to the second book in the series, this one bored me. Rowling gives a lot of background information about Harry’s parents which I’m assuming will be fundamental for the next novels. I suppose I wanted this book to mirror the second one with an intense mystery and imminent danger lurking at every corner. I’m hoping that I’ll grow to like this book as the series progresses, especially as Black’s character grows in importance. However, the audio version is never disappointing which kept the book a bit more interesting for me.

Ghost Medicine by Andrew Smith

ghost medicine

5/5 stars

Troy lives in a horse town and tries to get reprieve from his past, his ghosts, with the help of his great friends, Tom and Gabe. While Troy works for Gabe’s dad on his ranch, he is also in love with Luz, Gabe’s sister. What should have been a summer of healing turns into a summer of hurt when danger becomes unavoidably tangible.

This book seemed rather long because Smith’s strength is geared more toward character development rather than plot. The first 200 pages lulled on as far as plot is concerned in order to build the characters in a meaningful way. Despite this, I couldn’t stop reading the book because the construction at the sentence level is both impressive and inspiring. Moreover, the character’s subtle shift in dialect reflects their background very accurately. The last 100 pages flew by because the threat of devastating danger worked to make a suspenseful plot. Although Winger is still my all-time favorite Andrew Smith book, this one takes second.

Beach Babe (Babymouse, #3) by Jennifer L. Holm

BabymouseBeachBabe

3/5 stars

With school out for the summer, Babymouse takes on the beach. Babymouse can’t wait for summer – no homework, no mean classmates, and freedom! Once she finally gets to the beach it’s her time for fun and relaxation. However, she is constantly pestered by her little brother who wants her to play with him. Babymouse wants none of that…until she finally realizes how much he just wants to be with her and she finally caves to the pressure. Turns out she can enjoy summer even with her little brother.

I loved the lightheartedness of this book, as does Babymouse, but found it refreshing that Holm incorporated touches of a deeper theme. As an older sister myself, I could definitely relate to my little brother always wanting to do some sort of activity that was never on my agenda. But he always tugged on my heart strings and I always wound up feeling guilty if I didn’t spend time with him. I hope that as I continue to read the adventures of Babymouse that these deeper, relatable themes continue to emerge.

