Top Ten Reasons I Love Reading

I’ve always liked reading, but within the last few years I have grown to love reading. Before bed, in the car, on the couch, even while fishing, I can’t get enough of reading.

toptentuesday

Here are my top ten reasons why I love reading:

1. Learning

The world is such a big place full of so many things I don’t even know about yet. Reading, especially reading nonfiction, gives me a chance to continue to learn about the world which is always changing.

2. Empathy

Fiction, on the other hand, allows me to empathize with others. I have no idea what it’s like to live in poverty, but I’ve read books that feature narrators who do. Reading provides insight into others’ lives and situations that, in turn, enrich my life.

3. Cheap Travel

The price of a book is significantly cheaper than the price of a place ticket. This year I’ve gone to Zimbabwe, Cuba, and Hogwarts all without breaking the bank. packing

4. Hobby

Everyone needs a hobby whether it’s sewing, golfing, or underwater basket weaving. I have several diverse hobbies, such as backpacking, archery, baking, AND reading.

5. Reading Communities

What’s better than reading? Talking to others about reading! I love online reading communities like Top Ten Tuesday, It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?, and Goodreads. I’ve recently gotten into book podcasts and I have several friends and coworkers that are part of my reading community.

6. Never Bored

When I was younger, I would always tell my mom I was bored. Her response would always be, “Go read a book.” I’ve taken that to heart and now I’m never bored. There’s always something to read about that’s not boring.

7. Conversation Points

When there’s a lull in the conversation, I always start talking about something I’ve recently learned in a book. Most of the time, these bookish conversation points center on nonfiction, but from time-to-time I also bring up really great books with interesting plotlines or features that I’ve read.

8. Escape

When life give you lemons, read a book. There are some things in my life that drive me crazy and I can’t change so I read to escape from reality.

9. Professional Tie-In

Reading helps me as a 7th grade Language Arts teacher. I have many books in my repertoire that I can recommend to students at the drop of a hat.

10. Library

I’ll be honest: sometimes I read just so I can take a trip to the library. It’s so calm yet full of energy and there are always new books on the shelves.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

