It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/20/16

This week I finally feel like I have started to truly rest after the conclusion of a crazy school year. Yikes! It only took a whole month! I even got out my fountain pen and started to write again. It feels good.

Last week on the blog:

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly blog meme. The kidlit version is hosted by Unleashing Readers and Teach Mentor Texts.

imwayr

Here’s what I’ve recently finished:

Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson

lumberjanes

5/5 stars

I am loving this series so much that I’m not even sure where to start! The main plotline follows five pre-teens spending their summer at Lumberjanes, a camp for girls. They quickly discover that this summer camp is different than most (i.e. crazy Yetis, strange caves, possessed boy scouts, and other paranormal experiences). It’s an adventurous plotline that continues from issue to issue.

The five girl campers are greatly diverse so that all readers can find someone to relate to. However, this is not a gender-dependent read – both boys and girls will find the story completely captivating and so smart and funny. There are themes of friendship and loyalty and all-around girl power packed into each adventure with an underlying mystery. If that weren’t enough, the art is absolutely stunning. The facial expressions rival some of the best graphic novels I’ve read. What impresses me most about the art is the use of the entire page with frames in creative and interesting positions:

 

img_2323

I can’t wait to get this collection in my classroom library and recommend it to the school library…and of course make my way through the rest of the series!

Lady Pancake & Sir French Toast by Josh Funk

5/5 stars

lady pancake

When word gets out that there’s only one drop of syrup left, the race is on between Lady Pancake and Sir French Toast. This refrigerator adventure wholly entranced me with its rhyming lines and colorful artwork. Many of the scenes are very clever (skiing through Mashed Potato Mountain and wandering through Broccoli Forrest). My one qualm was that the theme at the end of this picture book got too preachy for my taste. However, I loved the entire concept and I especially liked the last page of the book which folds down to show the entire fridge from top to bottom filled with all of the refrigerator characters.

Holes by Louis Sachar

4/5 stars

holes

Growing up I watched the movie adaptation of Holes starring Shia LaBeouf again and again, but I never picked up the book. I suppose I still haven’t picked up the book, but I just finished listening to the audio version. As I listened to the book, I felt as if I could have been watching the movie – many of the same lines from the book were quoted directly in the movie. Holes is the best book-to-movie adaptation I’ve seen yet. This book is filled with juvenile delinquents, imprisonment, and deep mysteries. Now I finally have a go-to recommendation for students who loved The Outsiders.

