A Day In the Life of a Teacher: Real Time

5:45 a.m. It’s far too early to wake up. It’s the time in the year where the sun gets sleepier and sleepier, not wanting to get up, either.

6:15 a.m. Coffee going. Lunch ready. Makeup on. Dressed to impress (the comfy casual professional look today). Out the door.

6:30 a.m. Listen to news on commute. Swerve to miss hitting deer.

7:20 a.m. My morning routine at school: Use the restroom, go to the classroom, turn on  the morning news, rush around to make sure everything is in its place. Do I have enough time to find an article, copy it, print it, go to the copier, and return before kids come down to the hallway? Let’s see…

7:47 a.m. I can’t believe I pulled this morning together. Only a few minutes behind. But I have fresh article in hand.

7:50 a.m. Crack hilarious jokes that my 7th graders don’t laugh at. Do not let said students continue their day until they laugh at said jokes.

8:00-10:40 a.m. Class after class after class after class. Nonstop kids. Always on my toes.

10:41 a.m. Fling upon the classroom door in the middle of reading conferences. Run next door. Ask the substitute teacher if she will watch the kids. Proceed to run down the hallway to the faculty restroom.

12:00 p.m. Use the 25 minute lunch to walk across the street to Central office to deliver papers. Isn’t it a beautiful day?

12:20-3:35 p.m. More kids, teacher meeting, brief planning with a trip to the copier, more kids, another class.

3:40-3:50 p.m. Organize the classroom for the next day. Write new agenda on the whiteboard. Straighten papers, turn off lamps and sound system.

3:55 p.m. Running down the hallway to the gym. Do you think they’ll start the volleyball game without a line judge? Why do I always wait until the last minute to get down here?

4:00-6:30 p.m. Occasionally signal “In” the court or “Out” of the court during the 7th grade volleyball games. Jeesh, my feet hurt from all this standing.

6:35-7:05 p.m. Constantly switch the radio stations and podcasts during commute. How can there be nothing good on with all of these choices?

7:10 p.m. Order the large drink with combo meal at Taco Johns. Have I eaten any vegetables today?

7:15 p.m. Arrive to book club an hour late. Laugh with the ladies as we discuss A Man Called Ove and Relish, both excellent books.  

8:45 p.m. Bow out of book club before anyone else.

8:45-9:05 p.m. Listen to the Rockies game on commute home. I hate when they play in California. Those games start WAY too late for me.

9:10 p.m. Eat leftover homemade apple pie. With ice cream. Does this have any vegetables in it?

IMG_1638

9:16 p.m. Unpack today’s lunch and realize I forgot to put ice packs in. Do you think this cottage cheese is still good? I guess we’ll see tomorrow. Pack tomorrow’s lunch.

9:17-9:26 p.m. Get ready for bed. Walk around the house while brushing my teeth. Finally reach 10,000 steps for the day.

9:27-10:10 p.m. Get online to search an audiobook for tomorrow’s elective class. Blog. Check email.

10:15 p.m. Lights out. Wait…Did I ever get those vegetables?